meangreen
01-11-2005, 05:33 PM
what do yall think about the turbo kits on ebay. i saw a kit the other day and it cost around 700 bucks. so just let me know if anybody has had any bad dealings.
Nitrous, Super Chargers, & Turbos - ebay turbosView Full Version : ebay turbos meangreen 01-11-2005, 05:33 PM what do yall think about the turbo kits on ebay. i saw a kit the other day and it cost around 700 bucks. so just let me know if anybody has had any bad dealings. StifflersMom 01-11-2005, 07:17 PM its REALLY incomplete NTX 01-11-2005, 07:25 PM Be sure the person you're doing business with is reputable. I've heard of people sending money for turbos and getting nothing. meangreen 01-11-2005, 10:11 PM i kind of figured it would be incomplete. i just wanted to go kinda cheep but i guess i will just have to save up for my b18c5 swap. Kappa22 01-11-2005, 11:38 PM Are you gonna boost the C5? sacicons 01-12-2005, 12:54 AM [sm=badidea.gif] Kappa22 01-12-2005, 03:04 AM That's what I was going to say... Remmy 01-13-2005, 11:41 AM ORIGINAL: sacicons [sm=badidea.gif] that is really funny! .... its just the way you did it sacicons sacicons 01-13-2005, 07:19 PM yeah, im a funny guy. Kappa22 01-13-2005, 10:31 PM I'll second that hondabboy 01-14-2005, 04:24 PM dont get turbo kits from ebay you gonna get screwed get your kit done at by professionals. and i think you shouldnt boost the b18 cause its kinda expensive if you damage the motor Kappa22 01-14-2005, 07:09 PM and i think you shouldnt boost the b18 I assume you mean the C5 burgo990 02-02-2005, 04:04 PM those kits aint a good idea if you gonna try and plug and play, but as to buying it to get all the bits you need i think its very good ;) sacicons 02-02-2005, 08:08 PM if you know what youre doing, go for it. just dont boost the C5 unless you have a lot of money. and if you have that much, give me some.:D Remmy 02-02-2005, 08:26 PM yea, there is a guy selling jackson racing s/c' on ebay for like 2 grand... but i know one thing important is missing... the intercooler. It also says it'll give you a 40% (whatever that is) hp boost... isnt that a little low for a s/c?. come to think of it... its tourqe that gives you the killer pick up right? fill me in. here is the link to it: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7950235861&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT Kappa22 02-02-2005, 08:27 PM Yeah. But build it FIRST, not last. Blackhatch124 02-02-2005, 09:05 PM i hate to burst everyones bubble but i bought a turbo kit off of ebay for 715, probably the same you were looking at, and the only thing it didnt come with is and intercooler, intercooler piping, and an FMU. everything else is there and it is a very good setup im very happy with it Kappa22 02-02-2005, 09:10 PM Yes, it's true that the main reason people buy S/C's is for the low-end power and torque. But what most people don't realize is that putting a bunch of extra LE torque into an FF daily driver is a dumb idea. Especially if you live in an area where cops give you tickets for peeling out... even in the rain. Kappa22 02-02-2005, 09:12 PM And Blackhatch, my bubble is still intact. It's just that I've heard a lot of stories of people getting ripped off buying parts on eBay. Sounds like you got a hell of a deal though. Nice! StifflersMom 02-02-2005, 09:51 PM Who was the seller? If you got a kit that was good quality, please, tell us who is selling the good stuff. Remmy 02-03-2005, 10:12 AM ya, ive been told by numerous people here that Jackson racing isnt bad tho. Blackhatch124 02-03-2005, 11:20 AM sorry i wasnt tryin to sound like a jerk or anything...yeah i know alot of people have been ripped off from ebay parts but this guy has a pretty good seller percentage so i tried him out. his seller id is www.ssautochrome.com and he has alot more kits on ebay for sale to for B and D series motors civic96RB 03-09-2005, 11:21 PM yea ssautochrome is a good site my boy duane bought his turbo and everything off therefor a pretty good price but got rear ended and sold his hatch and got a bike then a truck 00civicb18 03-10-2005, 03:05 PM My buddy has a c5 complete build downed compression, and rev hard t04E turbo, he is pushin high 500 after we get the thing tuned, running about 20 to 25 psi , and 30-35 at the track no joke. finalimpact 03-10-2005, 10:35 PM ssautochrome has decent deals. ive bought from that company and havnt had a problem with the transaction(t28 downpipe). although i have heard of people buying turbos from them that arent in the best condition. ive heard there manifolds tend to crack also, but then again a tubular style turbo mani wasnt intended for everyday driving but more of a track set up. instead of buying a kit for $700 maybe you chould check into homemadeturbo.com. my first turbo kit ran me less than $500 in parts and being an auto tech i didnt have to pay labor costs. riceburner700 03-11-2005, 10:36 PM ORIGINAL: Blackhatch124 sorry i wasnt tryin to sound like a jerk or anything...yeah i know alot of people have been ripped off from ebay parts but this guy has a pretty good seller percentage so i tried him out. his seller id is www.ssautochrome.com and he has alot more kits on ebay for sale to for B and D series motors yeah i was actualy thinking about buy one of his kits and also buying an intercooler kit to sounds like a good dealer with good feedback and somewhat decent products. rzimmer11 03-11-2005, 11:26 PM Don't boost that C5 on the stock motor. The compression is way to high |