B18A1 Non Vtec to Vtec - HondaCivicForum.com


Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-20-2006, 01:32 AM
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Default B18A1 Non Vtec to Vtec

I bought a 1990 Acura Integra GS with a B18A1 with a Non Vtec head. And I was wondering Which Head from the B series I can swap it out with to make it Vtec. Plus I plain to swap the engine in to a 89 CRX, how much trouble would that be, and what do I need to do the swap.

Thank You!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2006, 06:47 AM
HCF Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 1,010
Default RE: B18A1 Non Vtec to Vtec

b18c_ c1, c5 are the gsr and type r, then b18c3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2006, 11:51 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 62
Default RE: B18A1 Non Vtec to Vtec

DONT FOR GET THE ALMIGHTY B17A1.... 90-93 gsr 1.7 liter 170 hp..... those heads flow VERY well, but they are VERY hard to come by
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2006, 01:36 PM
Marty's Avatar
HCF Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Central
Posts: 8,519
Default RE: B18A1 Non Vtec to Vtec

The B17 head is no different than the obd1 and obd2 B16 head
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-20-2006, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,095
Default RE: B18A1 Non Vtec to Vtec

Yeah, and you forgot to mention the B16.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-20-2006, 02:58 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 62
Default RE: B18A1 Non Vtec to Vtec

yes it is.. the ports are different and so are the cams....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-20-2006, 04:44 PM
HCF Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 1,010
Default RE: B18A1 Non Vtec to Vtec

but why would you want a b16 head on a b18 block? i understand they are both basically the same block, is there anything to be gained by using a 16 head? i did not think there would be, so i kept it to the 18's....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-20-2006, 04:59 PM
HCF Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 5,180
Default RE: B18A1 Non Vtec to Vtec

If you get a B16 head, it will lower the compression. This would be good if you plan to run a forced induction set up.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-20-2006, 08:26 PM
HCF Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: north ont
Posts: 97
Default RE: B18A1 Non Vtec to Vtec

u asked if there was much troble.. well a little ,non vtek to a v-yek takes new wiring on the ecu part and a new oil line to the head aswell..,,,
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-21-2006, 04:04 PM
HCF Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location:
Posts: 7,702
Default RE: B18A1 Non Vtec to Vtec


Quote:
ORIGINAL: AgentofDarkness

If you get a B16 head, it will lower the compression. This would be good if you plan to run a forced induction set up.
not from a B17 head. but yeah from most B heads it will

use a SiR head. lower compression and best flowing.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade (SWAP) to used LS (non-vtec) or fix current D16y7 non-VTEC ? new2honda Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat 1 08-21-2014 06:49 PM
D17A1 civic lx non vtec, interference or non-interference? giwatcher Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat 2 02-14-2009 10:14 AM
B18a1 turbo or non tubro???? hondajoe77 New Member Introductions 2 04-04-2006 09:17 PM
vtec vs non vtec?? mahmi Engine & Internal 14 08-25-2005 10:39 AM
VTEC to Non-VTEC Engine Replacement kcmercedes EK Swaps 6 09-25-2004 12:05 AM


Tags
92, b16, b16a, b18a1, civic, diy, ef, gsr, head, honda, kind, project, swap, turbo, vtec

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:13 PM.