General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

96' civic?

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2008, 07:53 PM
Default 96' civic?

im thinking about buying a honda civic, im new to the civic (used to hate the civic because of all ricers but i learned)
its a black 96' honda civic exmanual 5 speed with stock engine (d16y8 i believe?) its already got a cold air intake and its been lowered and has air ride suspension. its got brand new wheels with charcoal rims (looks amazing) and other than that its pretty much stock. the only thing that i am not sure about is its spedometer is in km/hr so i dont know if its from canada (has a d16y7 engine?) but what im asking is would this be a good civic to upgrade for racing? i think its getting around 132 hp (engine+cai) and i hear bolt on's work better with a manual. but im still not sure if it could be a good racer with low cost.

as you can see ive been doing my research but i need a little more information (ive tried googling but cant find much). i plan on just adding a new exhaust system and getting headers

what do you guys think?

Old 03-18-2008, 08:19 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: 96' civic?

well since its d16y7 and you plan on doing a couple bolt ons id say racing against other na Fwd cars you should do okay but Fwd cars with swap like b16 or b20 will give you a run for your money
Rwdisanother story though ..

Old 03-18-2008, 08:28 PM
HCF Member

well if your getting "headers" then its not a civic.

but any way. i dont like air ride suspension..im not saying they wont be good for the track. i just dont like them, they add to much weight. also, for the cluster, it could be a GSR swap, which is common for civic owners to swap clusters with ones from integreas, better civics, etc. bolt ons dont work any better with one transmission than another...but if you plan on racing...vote auto's out unless its for drag...and even there i prefer a manual.