General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

Air/fuel

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2012, 11:25 PM
Default Air/fuel

I have a couple questions I need someone who knows what they are talking about to answer.

Okay so #1 Bigger injectors on a stock intake manifold? Would it help on my b18c1? I'm COMPLETELY new to the whole fuel thing up until now all I have been
doing are small bolt ons with the occasional online research to learn new things
I need to have someone to explain the whole situation.

which brings me to #2 if the bigger injectors on a stock manifold don't work how about on a port matched 70mm throttle body and intake manifold from skunk2? Also would the ecu automatically adjust or would manual tuning be needed? I'm asking all of this to better learn about the who fuel/air deal I want to learn more and I figured getting info from the tuners is the best way please help me better understand the situation. (I know how an engine works im very well educated on that I just want to know if changing those thigns would be wise.) Please help.

Old 07-24-2012, 05:47 AM

#1. No. Fuel is something you add in when you have more air being shoved into the motor. No extra air, no extra power. You need tuning when you change injector sizes. DO NOT put in different sized injectors without ECU changes.

#2. I actually just posted something about this on Honda-tech.com recently. Here it goes (about the bigger TB):

You need X amount of air, why are you making your set-up capable of bringing XXX air in?

Think of water going through a hose... now take that same amount of water and run it through a much bigger hose. The velocity is much less. I had a 68mm TB and Sk2 IM on my set-up (with a crower stage 2 cam) and throttle response was terrible. Shifted my power band all the way up to like 5.5k and above.