General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

cost of 30k mile service

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2007, 10:26 AM
Default cost of 30k mile service

Hi, I'm getting a 30k mile service on my Honda Civic 2005. They said that it costs 299$ for this service!? They're giving me a 10% "discount" because my family goes to this place for service, total bullsh!t. This is from a Honda Dealership in Knoxville, TN. I'm kinda wondering if this is normal for this service or are they trying to overcharge, this is my first time having this service and I feel like they're taking advantage of me. It just seems crazy expensive... what are dealerships are your place charging and is it a fair price?

Tried searching for this topic but couldn't find, hope i'm nor reposting.

Old 07-26-2007, 10:30 AM
HCF Member
Default RE: cost of 30k mile service

this is what they do at the 30,000 mile check up:

Replace engine oil. <- you should be able to do that yourself

Rotate tires (follow pattern on page 241 of your owner's manual). <-- this too

Inspect and adjust drive belts.

Replace air conditioning filter*3.

*3: See air conditioning filter on page 235 of your owner's manual for replacement information under special driving conditions.

Replace air cleaner element every 30,000 mi/48,000 km (independent of time).

Check engine oil and coolant at each fuel stop. <-- this too

Check and adjust valve clearance, cold engine, if noisy.

if you don't know how to do all this i still wouldnt recommend getting it done at the dealer.

Old 07-26-2007, 10:33 AM
HCF Member

30k sounds like oil, plugs/wire/cap/rotor, timing, fluids check, and the only real PITA- valve lash adjustment. Not worth 300 to me, but it's probably $120-150 in parts and 2 hours of work (depending on your proficiency). Do it yourself, it's a great way to get toknow your car.

Old 07-26-2007, 10:45 AM