General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

Which engine? eg hatch rally car

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2008, 08:53 PM
Default Which engine? eg hatch rally car

First time post and i am totally new to honda's so bear with me while i sound noobish lol. So i just got a 93' civic si hatch from a friend of mine and i have some long term plans for it. I want to do an engine swap and possibly turbo it. The car will eventually be built as a rally car and secondary as a daily driver. I want this car's engine to last to be as reliable as possible. I would like to keep up with or be slightly faster then a stock nissan 350z ormy buddy'sstock new mustang v8. Knowing this what kind of target hp numbers should i be thinking of? Over 200 hp? 250 hp? 300hp? I know my friends mustang has 300hp but it weighs in at about 3300 lbs, about1200 lbsmore than my car. Next question is should i do an all motor build to reach these numbers or should i turbo? The engines i have been looking at are the b18b, b20b or perhaps the h22 even though its heavier and more difficult to install. Also, i think i can correct the weight and understeer problem associated with the h22 with a stiff rally suspension like i am planning on having. I'm just worried about ground clearance when i hit ruts and dips offroad. So what do all you pro's think? Thanks!

Old 02-21-2008, 09:09 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: Which engine? eg hatch rally car

damn those are some high goals welcome, your going to need to build your motor to hold that much hp id say 250 you might be able to run with the 350z someone correct me if im wrong on that one.

Old 02-22-2008, 11:42 AM