General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

got a honda yesterday, have a couple ?'s

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2008, 11:56 AM
Default got a honda yesterday, have a couple ?'s

This is my first time doing any type of forum thing, but I just have a couple of questions for anyone who could help me.... I traded my 94 full size 4x4 blazer for a 94 honda civic 4 door. the car is in excellent condition on the outside, but it's running weird. it has the original motor in it and it has like 200,000 miles on it. it takes a long time to accelerate & it shifts late & hard. also, on the interstate, you can tell it isn't very powerful & i can't get it to go over like 65 mph. the guy i traded with just changed the transmissions out, but it's not a brand new tranny. and i can't drive it much because he didn't put the protective cover back under the transmission. is my only option do just do a full motor & tranny swap? i want to get it running good before i start doing anything cosmetically to it. any advice would be greatly appreciated!! i have aim instant messanger - my screen name is tannahbaby and my email is bumpin89blazer@yahoo.com

[/align]

Old 05-25-2008, 12:31 PM
Default RE: got a honda yesterday, have a couple ?'s

If it's giving you problems idk, if I were you I would consider a full swap since it has 200,000K miles on it already, and it should eliminate every problem. You should get a JDM motor off ebay, they come with low mileage and you can get the engine/transmission together for relatively inexpensive.

you should consider buying a d16z6(125hp) or JDM d15b (130hp), unless you want even more power, but you'll have to do more work to swap in a b series or something.

Old 05-25-2008, 05:25 PM
HCF Member

well theres a reason civics get very good gas mileage, they dont have big powerful engines, but yeah 200,000 miles is a lot for any engine, you might want to change it all out. And what do you mean by it doesnt have the cover?