General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

Installing a spoiler this weekend

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2012, 08:05 AM
HCF Member
Question Installing a spoiler this weekend

I bought this spoiler on eBay last week for my 2005 Honda Civic LX sedan:
2001 - 2005 Honda Civic 4 DR Painted Rear Spoiler Wing | eBay

It came with the lame locator strips. I have a copy of Honda's installation instructions, and there are two marks on either side of the inside of the trunk that indicate where to drill [see attachment]. I suspect these should line up with the factory spoiler I have bought.

Any measurement advice about how close to the end of the trunk I should put the spoiler? I'm tempted to just drill the holes in the marks, but thats a risk I wont take...

I have my dad's 2007 Accord that has a spoiler to compare to, but will the measurements (how close to put it to the end of the trunk) be the same?

I have never done anything like this before; any advice is welcome!

Attached Thumbnails Installing a spoiler this weekend-installation.jpg  
Old 07-05-2012, 08:24 AM

I went through the same process. Really, just drill through the center of those marks with a tiny drill bit, then a larger one, then the final size. Use that little locator strip to mark where the wires on the left side will go through. Once all the holes are there, put the spoiler on for a test fit. If it all looks good, mask off and tape the area, then spray clear coat over the exposed metal to prevent rust. Do this for all holes. No clear coat? Use nail polish or something. Anything. Just cover the bare metal. Then bolt it on and enjoy.

Old 07-05-2012, 09:18 AM
HCF Member

During my lunch break, I thought of a way to double check that the marks on the underside of my hood will be in the correct locations to drill holes for my factory spoiler...