General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

My 98 Civic, recently purchased

Old 10-06-2010, 06:29 PM
Question My 98 Civic, recently purchased

Hello, Civic enthusiasts:

Am a newbie here. First time posting.

A couple of weeks ago, I bought a Honda Civic 1998 with 122 K. I had heard how they are great cars and that in part seduced me to buy this one. Not that it's bad, it runs great but it needs repairs.

I had brought it to a mechanic I knew before I bought it and he checked it out on his lift and okayed the purchase, but told me about an oil seal leak that was apparent because the pan was sweating. He said he could fix it for about $500.

However, when I told him I bought it, he worked up a proposed repair bill more than twice what he had said, in the neighborhood of $1200. Also, as I've driven it more, I realized there's a suspension issue and the brakes seems a bit low. So, I brought it to Pep boys. They said it needs front brakes or at least is going to need them soon, not really a surprise. They also said I need a right rear strut but that I should get both fixed because when one goes, the other usually follows, also expected. And they recommended installing a new timing belt as I don't know whether this was ever changed, standard rec. In addition, I found that some of the lights, the trunk light and third brake light aren't working and it's because a lot of wires in the trunk area were disconnected. Because of this, the car radio speakers in the rear don't work. So, I decided I'd get a new radio if I keep the car and let the installer reconnect everything. Finally, there's the issue of cosmetics ... it needs a paint job because of scratches and nicks and paint fading on a few sections, though in many sections of the car the paint is like new.