General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

Need More Power - Where to Start?

Old 04-02-2006, 02:27 PM
Default Need More Power - Where to Start?

My wife and I have had our 96 Civic CX for a couple years now and are really sold on Honda. We want to buy a new car but cant afford it for a year or so - Part of wanting a new car is that this Civic really has a lack of power.

I want to increase the horsepower but dont really know where to start, and dont want to spend thousands.

What can I do that will give me the most horsepower for the dollar? I want things that a novice like myself can replace on my own to keep costs down. I am no mechanic, but not an idiot either. If I could increase the horsepower or torque it would be huge.

We live in a very rural northern community and spend hours on the highways - whenever we hit a hill the car practically dies. We also haul a lot of supplies into town every few months, so the car is usually weighed down pretty good. More power and torque would be a huge help..

Any advice for a newbie? Any must check websites? Thx.

Old 04-02-2006, 02:42 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: Need More Power - Where to Start?

Ok first mod to do would be a 96-00 civic ex manual transmission as it has alot shorter gears and gives the engine a more direct drive to the wheels. You do not actually increase power this way but it feels like it and for $150 to $250 is about the best mod for the money.

Second would be a intake manifold from a 96-00 civic ex. Your car has the D16Y7 which the throttle body is sitting verticle. The manifold it is sitting on is a major bottle neck and is aimed at providing gas milage not power. With those 2 mods alot you will see around a second come off your 1/4 mile times, even if you dont race I just put that there to put it into perspective the gain you would see.