General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

New to the scene.

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2008, 03:37 PM
Default New to the scene.

Hey everyone. Well to start i am new to the car scene in general so if you guys could give me some advice first of all about cars and how the engine works and things like that. Sencondly i amlooking to get a honda i just don't know what to get. I will be on a 5K budget just for the car then ill save up for parts as i go along but i was wondering being that i would rather have a clean looking car (not to ricey) what type of honda should i look into. To give you some ideas i would like to build something simple like this.

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2149865/

All in all please help me to find the right car for me.
1. Easily upgrageable.
2.Want to make it look good while adding some perforemance parts such as headers, intake and exaust.

Thanks in advanced and sorry if this is long.

Old 08-04-2008, 09:03 PM

92-00 civic EX, preferably the 92-95 EX, i just think they look better, and there's less of them driving around.
If you're going to want VTEC you need to get an EX or the 92-95 Si (99-00 Si is out of the question on your budget and there is no such thing as a 96-98 Si). Also, stay away from automatics if you care about performance/coolness (people always mess with civic owners, especially if you have a modified automatic) , and possibly stay away from 4-doors (i think they usually look weird modified).

Old 08-05-2008, 12:53 PM
HCF Member

I totally agree with destruction. Go with 2 door and a model you don't seem much of. And go clean. Unless you are going to go more with appearance modifying than engine. But it sounds like you won't have much money to put into upgrades. So I would get the cleanest best looking one you can find.

Definitely don't get an automatic. I dont' even know why people drive automatics, and even worse, modify them.

Last edited by Apostle; 08-05-2008 at 01:26 PM.