General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

Newbie herto the JDM scene need little help with my HX

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2011, 11:17 PM
Default Newbie herto the JDM scene need little help with my HX

Hey guys well like I said im a newbie here Finnally got a hold of EK for cheap so I picked it up, Now i just have a few questions if you can help me out. I bought a 97 Civic HX 5sp Now my question is basically what can I do to make it into a EX im pretty sure i have the d16y5 its all stock vtec i believe but its pretty much gutless and I want to make it a little quicker I dont have too much to spend so lets not go crazy here thanks guys

Old 07-05-2011, 05:37 AM

If you have a single cam, you can install an exhaust, intake, and header for fun, but you will not gain much.

The only way to get any real power out of a D series would be to boost, or just swap out the motor.

If you don't have much to spend, I would look towards lowering the car, picking up a lip kit, and getting some wheels.

Old 07-05-2011, 07:23 AM

Well I don't need lowering and rims I have the nice HX rims that everyone wants I might trade them for Si rims but other then that I'm trying to stay away from lowering but I'm more wanting to do engine work more then cosmetic, my friends say just slap a ex ECU and it will gian some power others say I need an EX tranny and so on so I'm Not sure with everyone telling me somehing different I'm a little confused.

Old 07-05-2011, 07:41 AM

Do not just slap a different ECU in it. You have a lean burn vehicle, the EX is not. I am sure you will throw a CEL if you just throw a different ECU in.

You should convert to the EX style exhaust (check the exhaust stickies), and convert to the Y8 Intake manifold if you want to tinker with things. Don't invest too much as you will not gain too much power.

Old 07-05-2011, 08:12 AM