General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

possible 05 ex buyer...some questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2005, 06:20 PM
Default possible 05 ex buyer...some questions

hey guys. I currently own an 01 ford explorer xlt. Its great for hauling my dirtbike and going snowboarding and skiing however its not great when the other 90% of the driving i do is commuting to school and work. I do about 70 miles of driving a day and this truck is killing me at the gas pumps.

I am very seriously considering an 05 civic ex as an alternative. I test drove one and was pleased with it.

My questions are. How good/bad is the civic in the snow and winter conditions. I spend a lot of time in the poconos, PA and i do a lot of driving in harsh winter conditions. How does the front wheel drive hold up. Im a good driver and generally never used 4wd as it is. I keep it in rear wheel drive...so i think front wheel drive will be much better.

also, i am into motocross, so i have a tiny little dirtbike trailer i need to haul. Can i hook up a hitch to this car, and if so...does it have enough power to pull the 500 lbs between the trailer and dirtbike?

any other comments good or bad about this car would be greatly appreciated. thanks

Old 01-10-2005, 07:05 PM
Default RE: possible 05 ex buyer...some questions

well as for the driving in the snow i have no clue, i live in florida we dont see much snow here,lol. as for towing 500lbs on the back it is fine, i have a 04 ex 5sp and i tow my 2 jet skis in the back and i have no problem. hope this helps, also you'll get way better gas mileage in a civic then a explorer

Old 01-10-2005, 07:13 PM

yeah thanks for the input. O, if you can tow two jetskis than ill be fine towing a dirtbike and little trailer. Well, thats good news.

Anything i should watch out for or know when buying this civic. Or is there anything i should make sure i do when i get it as far as maintenance or break in?