General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

Powershifting

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2008, 03:38 PM
HCF Member
Default Powershifting

I was on my lunch break the other day and I was talking with my co workers about manual cars, and Powershifting came up. This guy kept telling me that all I need to use the clutch for is the first gear, than after that if the RPMs are right you can shift without a clutch, claiming that the clutch would last longer which in a way makes sense since you arent using it as much. They kept bringing up how the race drivers powershift all the time and its perfectly alright.
I am still somewhat new to the manual transmission, even though I can drive very good and have no problems this is my first manual car. I have never powershifted and I really dont plan on doing it, I have been told that you can screw up your tranny if you dont use a clutch to shift.

For the sake of argument, does powershifting hurt your tranny, and is it worth it? Somehow it doesnt feel right to do it.

Old 05-31-2008, 03:41 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: Powershifting

ORIGINAL: civicn00b

For the sake of argument, does powershifting hurt your tranny, and is it worth it? Somehow it doesnt feel right to do it.
For a normal tranny,... yes it will... severly... and no it's not worth it

Old 05-31-2008, 06:07 PM
gwl
HCF Member

I don't powershift yet my original clutch lasted until 220,000 mile. I don't think powershifting is a good idea.

Old 05-31-2008, 06:26 PM
Recognized HCF Member

well think about this... tranny what 200-500bucks...
clutch 100bucks......

dont destroy your gears, use the clutch thats what its there for.... to take the wear outta the trannys mechanical gears.

Old 05-31-2008, 07:20 PM
HCF Member

it's possible to do if the RPMs are right, but if a clutch wasn't necesarry, why would your car have a clutch?

Old 05-31-2008, 07:32 PM
HCF Member

Dont do it on your car. Trailers shift that way, but their transmission is super heavy duty