General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

Put me at ease, 1992 Civic DX Hatch 188,000 miles

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2010, 05:59 PM
Default Put me at ease, 1992 Civic DX Hatch 188,000 miles

Hello all,

This is my first time post. I have previously owned two Honda Fit's. Here's the thing, I'm 26 years old, I've been marriend, owned a house, divorced, owned cars, but currently I'm pretty much being forced into buying a 1992 Honda Civic hatchback with 188,000 and a BAD looking body, I've been referring to it as "carbortion"

Now I don't want to seem like I don't like Honda's, I do, I love them, but this thing looks like hell, and was in a front end accident. A close friend of mine, who is pretty much my dad, found me the car, and before looking at it I had to replace the hood on it, but I took his word (initially he said it was a 95 with 125,000 miles for $800 including the hood)

Now what I'm left with is a 92, for 600, plus the $200 for the hood, and I'm wondering, did I make a good decision. I am a musician and I tour, and I'm wondering very basically, is this a car I should feel comfortable with taking on the road for a tour or something like that.

The person we are buying it from is my friends mechanic, who swears that it is mechanically great, but at 188,000 miles, how much life can be left in it?

Thanks,
Joe

Old 11-04-2010, 06:40 PM
HCF Member

Id say you have another 150k miles left on it. My civic is at about 300k and my 1986 prelude had a lot more than that (odometer + speedometer quit working at about 350k+ and it ran for years and years after that)
I say get it! I wish mine was a hatch. Its a real bitch fitting a 5150 half stack into a coupe. btw what do you play?

Old 11-04-2010, 08:11 PM

Great, that's what I wanted to hear. I play folk/instrumental/ambient guitar stuff, kinda John Fahey, or Leo Kottke with loops and effects, something I need to travel to find my audience with.

Thanks!
Joe

Old 11-05-2010, 06:35 AM