General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

Questions about Civic Type R '08 Front/Rear

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2008, 12:21 AM
Default Questions about Civic Type R '08 Front/Rear

Hey guys, I'm a complete car novice... in fact, I don't even have a car quite yet but while I'm deciding on what to buy I had several questions I was hoping someone could possibly answer which would help me decide.

My questions reference this picture, so I'll just post it here:

1) How much would it cost (how much for parts, and how much for labor) to modify a 2008 Civic Si Sedan to have the front and rear (the tail lights, spoiler, and front lights... nothing else is different as far as I can tell, am I wrong?) of a Civic Type R as pictured above?
2) Where would I obtain such parts? Would an auto shop be able to do it?
3) Would it be possible to install the parts myself or is it too complicated?

Thanks in advance to anyone kind enough to answer my questions... I really know nothing so even having one of my questions answered would really help.

Old 03-03-2008, 04:39 AM
Default RE: Questions about Civic Type R '08 Front/Rear

1) JDM conversion of a 2008 Sedan (any sedan) costs around $4000 or so for parts, plus install & paint.

This includes:
Front fenders
hood
Front grille
Front Bumper
Headlights
Radiator shroud
Rear taillights
trunk

Add to that the following for a Type R look-a-like:
CTR Wing
CTR Rear bumper
CTR front lip
CTR side skirts
CTR Wheels
$4000

Beyond that, Si v Type R, the type R has a different exhaust, suspension, interior, brakes, intake and a whole bunch of engine internals

2) There's several online places (procivic comes to mind) that can get you the parts to do a JDM conversion.

3) you can install them yourself, as it's a direct swap for the most part, but it is recommended to get a body shop to help you out lining up the panels.

There's quite a few guys who have done a JDM conversion or a CDM (Acura CSX) conversion over on 8thcivic.