General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

Short Shifter, Shifting Problems

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2008, 01:49 PM
Default Short Shifter, Shifting Problems

Does anyone have the problem of the short shifter not fully engaging the gears?
From a neutral position, it's "sometimes" hard to go into 1st gear unless I press down/ease-up on the clutch pedal. It works better to go from neutral to 2nd and then 1st, before letting up on the clutch.
Also it seems to "click" into each gear and not a smooth shift like most shifters.
And it grinds the gear a little when shifting into 5th at high rev around 5k-7k rpm.
Can anyone help me with this issue as I'm just getting into the modding scene.

Thanks,

Old 11-19-2008, 02:17 PM
HCF Member

What kind of short shifter do you have? Ebay knock off or Brand name? if Brand name what Brand?

Old 11-19-2008, 02:38 PM
Angry Admin

i really dont think that it has anything to do with your short shifter unless you ****ed up the install majorly.

Old 11-19-2008, 03:32 PM
HCF Member

Short shifter will not make your gears grind.
Thats all in your trans.

How's your clutch? Before I put my new clutch in my car, it use to have trouble getting into first. Now its just fine.

And why such a high rev into final gear??

Old 11-19-2008, 04:03 PM
HCF Member

Ehhh, you guys are just a tad bit mistaken. If the current problem is the result of the new short shifter he installed, then it's the short shifter. Nothing internally should have been changed. If he did in fact purchase a no-name brand shifter, then it can be a result of not fully engaging into the gears due to the pivot arm on the underside of the pivot ball not being the correct lenth for the complete shift on the shifter fork. That's why buying Name-Brand equipment pays off. But then again, the OP didn't mention whether or not it is name brand. And yes, it can also have been from using the wrong hardware with the installation or wrong shifter part number.