General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

Stiiiick Shift

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2007, 10:43 PM
HCF Member
Default Stiiiick Shift

Well,I got my 99 EX Honda Civic running, but its a stick, and I'm just hardly getting used to it.

Problem, since I'm a noob at stick-shift, I can't seem to get a good start. It either stalls, or JUMPS.

But jumps I mean, its not a smooth start. It jumps and i'm good.

Also, the gas is SOOO sensitive, it seems as if I were to hardly gas it, it jumps at 4000 rpm.

Any suggestions on how to improve this? I know theirs guides and tutorials, and I've see them, but its not good enough information provided.

Old 01-06-2007, 10:47 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: Stiiiick Shift

When it stalls, ur not giving it enough gas. When it jumps, you let the clutch out too fast. Practice makes perfect, go to an empty parking lot and practice.

Old 01-06-2007, 10:50 PM
HCF Member

well 1st gear is the hardest one to get used to....basically start off doing everything SLOWLY, when i say slowly like overemphasize the slowness...regardless of how much gas you give it as long as you slowly release the clutch it neither will stall or buck around like a horny bronco. The best way to learn is to find someone who can physically help you out a little, learning stick is a hands-on teaching experience, it is really hard to describe with words.....

Old 01-06-2007, 10:50 PM
HCF Member

just practice.

Old 01-06-2007, 11:16 PM
HCF Member

The commonmistake people do while learning how to start is to keep releasing clutch slowly from the very beginning. By the time clutch actually starts engagingleg muscles arealready tired and don't operate smoothly. I just copy/paste here the article on stick shift driving from my site: