Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

2001 civic clunk noise when tapping pedal ... experts?

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2012, 06:06 PM
Default 2001 civic clunk noise when tapping pedal ... experts?

hey guys . i know i know.... there is a million posts on this stuff ...
i have read a clunking noise when going over bumps ranges from :
lower ball joint
stabilizer links
bushings
shocks
sway bar

here my situation. just bought a 2001 honda civic lx 5 speed.
great shape, no rust. runs great. shocks seem fine. just changed transmission fluid, oil, filter, plugs , etc.

if i am in ... let say 3nd gear going 25mph (2-3k RPM).... if i let go of the pedal and coast, and then tap it real quick to create a jerking sensation like im a new driver at stick , i will hear this thunk that seems to be coming from the front middle possibly . i cant really feel it through the floor boards or anything but its a deep thunk .

it ALSO happens when i am shifting into lets say 4th gear. itll make the noise the PRECISE time when i let go of the clutch and press the gas when shifting into a gear...

it also makes a bit of noise when going over RR trax or entering a parking lot and hitting the curb. . . but thats just your wear and tear stuff listed below im sure.

i just wanted to see what people thought of my scenario . keep in mind i plan on jacking it up and really scoping out the front suspension once it stops raining next week. this noise reminds me of a sloppy axle or something, but i can tell you the cv axles look brand new.

Old 11-03-2012, 10:06 AM
HCF Member

Have you checked all your engine\ transmission mounts to see if any of them are worn?

Old 11-03-2012, 03:13 PM
Recognized HCF Member