Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Missing ground wire on my valve cover - how important is this?

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2014, 02:13 PM
Default Missing ground wire on my valve cover - how important is this?

EDIT: Forgot to add the most important part! It's a 96 Civic CX

I'm just beginning to learn about cars, so please do forgive me if I'm using the wrong terms. So recently my alternator died. Before i changed the alternator there were many problems - most noticeably - the headlights were so dim I could not really tell they were on at night, the radio and dash would flicker on and off sometimes, and if I didn't drive the car for about a week, it wouldn't start because the battery would be drained. The one thing that was NOT going on was my battery light never once came on. (Note - other dash lights functioned properly, like my seatbelt light, brake light, etc.)

I took out the old alternator and had it tested, it was confirmed that it was bad (took it in to autozone and they did some test on the alternator itself). I bought a new alternator and installed it, and while I was at it changed my P/S pump belt and alternator belt.

So - since changing the alternator - immediate difference is noticed. Headlights are super bright, car starts great and is running fine. however - now the battery dash light is ALWAYS on, although it is only very, very dim. Dim enough that I can only tell its on when it's night time (contrast this with the fact that say when the brake light on the dashboard comes on if I put on the e brakes, even if it's super bright out, I can clearly see the little red dash light illuminated)