Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Need help with a 1983 Civic Wagon...

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2008, 07:43 PM
Default Need help with a 1983 Civic Wagon...

Greetings all,

I'm a former auto tech from many moons ago. Never worked on Honda's though, however I do know quite a bit about the basics.

I've got an '83 1500 Civic wagon with two problems:

First, I've done a complete tune up on the car and all vacuum lines appear to be fine.

I've adjusted the carb float levels and both are centered in the site glass with the engine idling. However, if I drive down the road, when I come to a stop, it is flooding out. When I look at the site windows, both bowls are completely full of fuel.

If I keep it running for about 20 seconds or so, the level slowly drops back down to where it should be and then it will idle fine...

I'm stumped! It's very frustrating because it constantly wants to stall out. I'm thinking fuel pump or possibly fuel pressure regulator (does this thing even have one?) but have never seen a pump that has pressure runaway when flowing more fuel...

No, it's not the needle and seat. First I grabbed a second carb from the wrecking yard and it did the exact same thing. Then I rebuilt my original carb with new needle and seat and it's still doing it...

I'm considering adding an aftermarket fuel pressure regulator but I shouldn't have to... Anyone run into this before?

The second issue is an oil burning one. I've already replaced all valve seals with new viton and have also replaced the auxilary valve seals and o-rings. Valve guides had minimal wear (car has 130K on it).

If the car sits overnight, when I start it in the morning, I get a HUGE cloud of blue smoke. It will burn off then clean itself up...