Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

new member - engine vibration

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2015, 06:37 PM
Default new member - engine vibration

This is my mother's car. I'm relatively new to Hondas, but have replaced her plugs twice (in 62,000 miles). 2002 Civc EX (I think), 2 door.

Just a while ago I wanted to check the tranny fluid. It looks like some has bubbled over, as there's a stain around the hole. The fluid itself looks a little brown, though I need to check it again in the daytime. I heard someone say you never change the fluid in a "Honda slushbox", but I'm aghast at the suggestion that tranny fluid doesn't need to be changed.

Anyway, I put my hand on the plastic coil pack cover, and notice considerable vibration. This doesn't seem normal. Could 1 or more coil pack need replacing (70-80$ a piece right? Ouch). Or could it be something else? The engine is rocking back and forth, it just ain't smooth. Noticeable, significant vibration in my opinion. And you notice this while driving (I think she first mentioned it a while ago, maybe 1 or 2 years ago). I want that puppy to run smooth if at all possible. Was described by her as a "grinding". Vibration in any event.

Thanks for your help. The new plugs were NGK's I bought at Advance (3.39$ apiece). The electrodes were so skinny! The last set (don't egg me) were platinum Autolites. I was told by my brother those were for FORDS, he's only ever seen crush rings on Ford plugs. But the NGK's also had crush rings . . .

Thanks for your help in advance.

Old 02-28-2015, 10:40 AM
HCF Member