Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

oil leak & CV boot?

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2010, 04:01 PM
HCF Member
Default oil leak & CV boot?

I have a 1997 civic ex and was underneath it the other day and noticed I have an oil leak cause theres oil all over the oil pan but not sure where its coming from cause there was also oil up top aswell but didnt look like it was coming from the valve cover gasket. From what I could see up top looks like it might be coming from somewhere under the distributor. Also noticed the passenger side cv boot is torn/leaking I am kinda new to working on cars so not sure what all I need to replace and if I need any special tools. Any advice is appreciated.

Old 03-10-2010, 04:05 PM

check the distributor o-ring and your VTEC solenoid gasket for leakage.

Usually when the CV boot tears most people just replace the whole axle. Auto zone sells remanufactured axles for around $60 a pop after you get the core refund and they have a lifetime warranty. It's much easier to just change the entire axle rather than take it apart to replace the boot, especially since the cheap axles work well and have the warranty to back it up

Old 03-11-2010, 05:30 AM
HCF Member

What Trust said. Also, you might want to clean the engine block too. It's a lot easier to tell where a leak is coming from that way.

Old 03-11-2010, 01:41 PM
HCF Member

Thanks guys yea I plan on cleaning the whole engine bay since its pretty dirty. Didnt think to check the distributor o-ring and vtec solenoid gasket for leakage thanks trust hopefully its that simple. And I think Im just gonna replace both axles while Im at it since thier so cheap its only a matter of time before the other side goes too.

Old 03-11-2010, 01:58 PM