Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Tightening alternator belt - help!

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2014, 09:19 AM
Default Tightening alternator belt - help!

I have a 96 Honda Civic CXI. (I love my car ) I am VERY new to working on cars, and replacing the alternator is my first "real" project. (I changed the spark plugs and did a compression test, but that's it)

So, it took me all weekend (laugh if you will!) but I almost did it. I got my old alternator out. I took it in to autozone, they confirmed it was bad, I bought the new alternator, fit it back through the chassis from under the car, bolted the mounting bracket back on and got the new alternator bolted on it, got the belt back on, everything hooked back up, etc.

The only problem now is I can NOT get that damn alternator belt tight. I have tried and tried pushing as hard as I can on the alternator away from the engine block (to the point I made my palms bleed actually), but it is still crazy loose. Like, I can twist the belt probably 125 degrees from the side. I'll mention, I am a pretty small female, and though I have a lot of endurance and can really push myself, I do have terribly weak upper body strength. (I had to use a metal pipe around my socket wrench as a ghetto breaker bar to break loose almost every bolt on the alternator). Furthermore, I have no one I can ask to help me tighten it, or anything like that. Nor do I know anyone in real life who knows anything about cars. I'm totally alone on this venture!

I was about to give up for good, but then I read somewhere that I can use a prybar, wedge it between the engine block and a sturdy part of the alternator holding, and use that to put tension on the belt. I also read that if I follow this approach, it really won't matter how strong I am. EDIT: I found this video demonstrating it