New Member Introductions Are you new to Honda Civic Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride. This section is not for technical questions.

2000 Honda Civic

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2007, 08:15 PM
Default 2000 Honda Civic

hi guys this is my first post here, i have a 2000 honda civic EX, and i am not really into turbocharging my civic but would like to keep up the mantainance, My car has almost 73K miles on it.
what would u guy recommend me changing and where can i find affordable and good parts

timing belt kit& water pump
spark plugs
brake rotors and pads
spark plug wires
intake filter

what else would u guys recommend me changing, it is a commuter car and i would love to get more mpg and power from it
Thanks

Old 01-03-2007, 08:51 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: 2000 Honda Civic

I am still a noob here, but I will tell you what I did with my 97. It just hit 100k, and I wanted to make sure it lived to see 300-400k, so I went ahead and fixed a few things.

Timing Belt and Water Pump - since the water pump is driven by the timing belt why not change it-
All aux belts
NGK-R Spark Plugs and new wires
Oil change
Air filter change
general inspection of suspension and drivetrain components.

This amount of work is normaly defined by Honda to be done anywhere from 100-110K total miles, so I think you can afford to wait a bit if you really want to, but it never hurts to be early. I work here in my town with a killer import mechanic. He told me recently, that after the above listed items I installed, the car was set for another 100k minus a set of brake pads and or tires here and there.

The great thing about the honda engine, is that as long as you don't overheat it, and change the oil regulary, clean the air filter or replace it alltogether, it should be worry free and last for damn near ever. If you go with what you got, you should be set for a while.