New Member Introductions Are you new to Honda Civic Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride. This section is not for technical questions.

Former Hater

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2010, 07:35 PM
Default Former Hater

I just got my first civic a few days ago, 2001 dx, 5 speed power windows, cloth seats, It's got that beautiful gold/tan paint job. It's as stock as a rock right now and i'd like some insight as to some basic builds. I'm not a buyer i'm a builder. My first task will be a cold air intake but i'm not sure i want to relocate my battery. But at the same time i'm not afraid to cut a hole in the hood and make a real ram air... okay I might buy a header and exhaust, but i'll probably just buy a header and build the rest out of tubing. it's amazing what you can order from your local Acklands.

Old 09-30-2010, 05:38 PM

I say go with suspension mods first An intake and exhaust will not net you much more than 1-3 hp.

BTW, what did you drive previously?

Old 10-01-2010, 05:26 AM

I traded my civic straight across for an 87 GMC Suburban. It was a family deal. But I also own a 2005 Impala with a 3.4L it's also stock as a rock.

Old 10-01-2010, 12:09 PM

So you traded the Civic for the Suburban (which you own now)?? That's how you make it sound.

Just wondering what you drove/also drive in order to figure out why you were a former hater.

Old 10-01-2010, 06:47 PM

Ram air isn't worth it on a little 4-banger econo-box.

What are your goals? Do you want a good looking daily driver? Or a faster, more powerful car? Or a mix of both?

Old 10-01-2010, 07:10 PM
Super Cereal Admin