New Member Introductions Are you new to Honda Civic Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride. This section is not for technical questions.

Hello all newbie here.

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2015, 09:27 AM
Smile Hello all newbie here.

I picked up an old 91 civic hatchback this week. It needs some tlc but, I believe it could be a decent little car. It has had a motor swap done to it with a b20z2 motor installed. After market rims, the guy that I got it from didn't know much at all since he has only had it for a little while. It is running rich to the point it nearly chokes itself out, which I believe could be injectors. It idles pretty rough but, I believe that could be the running rich issue. I do have a really big question too it needs exhaust work especially from the cat back. I want something that doesn't make it really loud, would rather have a mellow tone any suggestions? I will post photos when it stops raining lol. Thank you for any and all suggestions.

Old 10-07-2015, 08:13 PM

There should be a Check Engine light if running rich. The injector timing pulse, to adjust mixture fuel, is adjusted by the Mass Air Sensor (MAS), catalytic converter, temperature and maybe some other sensors. A dirty MAS would give false air flow readings and thus wrong fuel (injector pulse) which may be outside of the exhaust oxygen sensor correction range, thus running rich or lean. Spray clean the MAS

Old 10-08-2015, 12:37 AM
Former Sponsor

Hello and welcome to the forum! Glad to have you here. Civic is a great car and I'm sure you won't be disappointed with it. May it provide unlimited fun and unhampered travel across all terrains for as long as you two are together. Feel free to reach out if you ever needed anything.

Old 10-08-2015, 01:29 PM

Originally Posted by illanrob