New Member Introductions Are you new to Honda Civic Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride. This section is not for technical questions.

new here, Honda Civic 95, tune up Q

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2008, 09:20 AM
Default new here, Honda Civic 95, tune up Q

Hi everyone,

I am new here and hope to use this forum to build up my Honda knowledge. I have been driving a 1995 Honda Civic for almost 8 years now. At 146,000 miles it has been a reliable and cost efficent car. Of course it is getting older and is starting to need larger maintenance. Also, I am not a "car person" so I tend to learn about things after they have already gone south at which point I then learn to fix it or have it fixed by my machanic.

Rencently I noticed that my car...maybe sputters...while I am stopped at red lights. It will kind of sputter and then settle and then sputter and then settle. So I took it in and they said I need a tune up because the car is misfiring. This is totally possible because I haven't had a tune up in forever and of course they are the experts. My problem with their assesment is that last summer my car wouldn't start and I didn't know what was wrong with it. It turned out, according to the same auto place, that I needed an entirely new distributor and spark plugs. He mentioned that a tune up would involve spark plugs, a distributor cap, and a rotar (for the disributor I think?). My question is why do these parts already need to be replaced? Wouldn't the cap and rotar have been replaced when I had a new distributor put in last summer? I trust that the mechanic knows loads more than I do on this topic but I just want to understand better what is going on so that I don't feel like I am being screwed. If it matters he priced the job at $200.

If anyone with patience wants to help a novice I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks!

Old 08-05-2008, 11:10 PM