New Member Introductions Are you new to Honda Civic Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride. This section is not for technical questions.

So, I just bought a '98 EX 5-speed. What do I do to it?

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2010, 03:42 PM
Default So, I just bought a '98 EX 5-speed. What do I do to it?

I just bought my first car - a '98 Civic EX 5-speed with 110,000 miles. (For $4k, you can do a whole lot worse, and it was from a dealer so I have someone to yell at if it goes wrong.) I'm having a new water pump and timing belt installed for the sake of safety, but was wondering what else I might do to return the car to factory-fresh levels of performance. While I'm a fairly technically adept sort of person (I've fixed everything from computers to air compressors), I'm a newbie auto mechanic, and was hoping to stick to the easier stuff - oil, air filters, etc. A few of the ideas I had include the following:

1. Oil. I'm told that some of the fancier stuff (notably Mobil 1 Extended Performance, which is a Group IV oil derived from synthetic stock) can make a difference, and that changing the viscosity a bit can help older cars. Any thoughts?

2. Fuel injector cleaning. The cars runs dandy, but dyno tests of old cars I've seen have shown that poor injectors and other effects of age can do horrible things to horsepower output. I'm only hoping for the ~120 HP at the crank the car came with from the factory, but hopefully some futzing with the fuel injectors can help.