Suspension, Brakes, Tires & Wheels Talk about your suspension, tires, wheels and brakes within.

can you DIY outer & inner tie rod ends?

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2008, 04:45 PM
HCF Member
Default can you DIY outer & inner tie rod ends?

I went to a Mobil station after hearing a lot of noise underneath the car whenever I went over bumps, potholes, etc in the road. I figured it was the shocks/springs. Turns out thatthe rear exhaust pipe was loose and the pipe was hitting the rear sway bar and that was causing the noise I heard. I can't blame myself for this. The guy I bought it from had it put on. Apparently it wasn't even welded. It was just sorta hanging in mid-air. THIS I will have to bring to a shop cuz I've got very little welding experience and don't own any equipment myself anyway.

But they of course checked everything else out: They said the left inner tie rod was worn loose and there was slight play in the right inner. The two outer tie rod ends were $52.41 each and the inner tie rod ends was $234.88 (just parts). Labor was $264.00, totalling $603.70. They said they didn't have to replace the inners but they might as well since they were replacing the outers. I have no clue. [sm=lame.gif]And then they said since they would do all that, they would have to adjust the two wheel alignment and rotate the wheels. Rotating the wheels ... I know I can do. But alignment and rotation would cost a total of $112.00.

I checked my Haynes manual for the tie rods and it only supplied three pictures, so since I would have no idea what I am doing, this would not help much. I looked up wheel alignment and it says at the end of the Removal and Installation for the tie rods to have the alignment checked by a dealer service department or an alignment shop, so I'm assuming that would be resounding "NO" in terms of a DIY'er.