Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

91 Si ( I need advice and help please)

Old 02-13-2006, 01:19 PM
Default 91 Si ( I need advice and help please)

I have a 91 si HB I have 200,000 on her and still runnning strong. I love this car, but she needs more juice and im afraid if I give her more I will need a new engine. This is my first project on a car. I'm ready to learn! I was looking at swaping out the engine, but I dont know what route to go many people tell me different things. What will fit? Whats the difference between SOHC or DOHC, I mean I been reading about it but i'm still a little hazy. I was wondering if someone was out there that knows something, and could tell me all that is involved. I was told if I put something in with more hp that I would have to change the axiles and clutch and a few other things. Thankyou
-Andre

Old 02-13-2006, 01:46 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: 91 Si ( I need advice and help please)

im sorry i dont have time to answer all your q,s just now.... but how much power do you want to gain?... i also have a '91 si hatch...
(sohc=single overhead cam... dohc= dual........) welcome to hcf.. where are you from?.. i will get back to this or you can pm me...

Old 02-13-2006, 02:21 PM
HCF Member

You should buy a B16A1 swap, they go all day on ebay for like $1200 and that would make that light car pretty quick plus give you room to tinker with bolt-ons on your first project car

Old 02-13-2006, 03:23 PM
HCF Member

DOHC ZC is almost a direct drop in in the 4th gen.

Old 02-13-2006, 03:24 PM
HCF Member

The B16A1 is a direct drop in

Old 02-13-2006, 03:28 PM
HCF Member

o wait. wait. A1. ok.

Old 02-13-2006, 05:09 PM