HondaCivicForum.com

HondaCivicForum.com (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/)
-   Engine & Internal (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/)
-   -   another oil leak..help (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/another-oil-leak-help-66832/)

kev2809 06-21-2008 10:11 AM

another oil leak..help

sup guys, noob here. i just bought a 92 civic, 1.5L with 141k miles. it runs and shifts pretty good, but when i got it i noticed a small oil leak, not leaking everywhere but smoked a little. i changed the distributor o ring and it seems to stopped leakin on that side, and i also changed the valve cover gasket just for good measure. but i notice the smoke is coming through the intake manifold pipes (?). it seems its coming from under or around them. i also noticed the bottom of the oil pan has oil or something all over it. it could be from the rack and pinion leaking, because it is leaking. but most of the oil that is on the motor is on the very bottom, could it be the oil pan gasket? any ideas? thanks in advance!

trustdestruction 06-21-2008 10:34 AM

RE: another oil leak..help

Well, if the distributor O-ring was leaking, it wouldn't be strange for it to drip down all the way to the oil pan. The smoke could be from the residue from the leak you used to have burning up. Is your VTEC solenoid leaking too?... it is a common problem for civics this age.

You should clean out your engine bay with some engine degreaser. Make sure you cover electrical connections with saran wrap or something. Spray the engine down, let it sit for like 5 minutes, and hose it all off. With a clean engine bay you should now be able to easily pinpoint any leaks.

kev2809 06-21-2008 10:37 AM