Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

AutoZone v OEM Honda parts

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2007, 04:12 PM
HCF Member
Default AutoZone v OEM Honda parts

Hey guys, I am going to replace the distributor cap and rotor, plugs and wires in my 00 civic ex, and I was just wondering if anyone had a bad expierience with parts from AutoZone or Advance Auto Parts or anything because the dealer told me to only use Honda parts (which I expected them to) but there is a significant price difference between the Honda parts vs. the other ones. The Honda parts are like $150 where the AutoZone ones are less than $100. Is this because of a difference in quality or just because the Honda ones have the "Honda" name? Im a college student and the car only has 59k on it, so I want good parts so it lasts but at the same time I need to save money wherever possible haha. Thanks a lot!

- Craig

Old 04-22-2007, 04:15 PM
Recognized HCF Member
Default RE: AutoZone v OEM Honda parts

autozone will be just fine. im running a autzone rotor and some seals and sh*t.

Old 04-22-2007, 04:15 PM
HCF Member

ORIGINAL: cmfmets

Hey guys, I am going to replace the distributor cap and rotor, plugs and wires in my 00 civic ex, and I was just wondering if anyone had a bad expierience with parts from AutoZone or Advance Auto Parts or anything because the dealer told me to only use Honda parts (which I expected them to) but there is a significant price difference between the Honda parts vs. the other ones. The Honda parts are like $150 where the AutoZone ones are less than $100. Is this because of a difference in quality or just because the Honda ones have the "Honda" name? Im a college student and the car only has 59k on it, so I want good parts so it lasts but at the same time I need to save money wherever possible haha. Thanks a lot!

- Craig