HondaCivicForum.com

HondaCivicForum.com (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/)
-   Engine & Internal (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/)
-   -   Does this make sense? (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/does-make-sense-8685/)

BrennanCivic 08-10-2005 03:45 PM

Does this make sense?

Obviously, I'm new to modding, and really, learning about cars in general. So here's my question, if it is a feasible one anyway: does a 2004 Honda Civic LX two door (coupe) have a single throttle body for the whole engine, or one for each cylinder, or does that even make sense? Sorry, I'm still trying to learn about it all and I've heard people talk about modding their throttle bodies, like getting a bigger one, and my understanding was this was part of what helps bring in air to the engine, so people would say get a bigger one so they'd have more power. Anyways, if my question is really one that makes sense, would a bigger throttle body even help that much?

cartledge 08-10-2005 05:33 PM

RE: Does this make sense?

You'll have a single throttle body, attached to the intake manifold.

you can get indivual throttle bodies for each cylinder like the TODA one below, but they replace the intake manifold but give you awsome gains upto 50bhp!!(plus suck good knows what into your engine).

TODA individual throttle bodies

A larger throttle body would give you a bit more power but in combination with a balanced system, cams etc would give you greater benift

AOL.COM 08-10-2005 05:40 PM

it has 1 throttle body ----but i would work on the intake & exhaust 1st---then a bigger throttle body would have a better affect---remember the faster u can get air & fuel in & out of the engine -- the faster u go[sm=gears.gif]

ngoti 8tor 08-10-2005 08:08 PM

ORIGINAL: AOL.COM
remember the faster u can get air & fuel in & out of the engine -- the faster u go