HondaCivicForum.com

HondaCivicForum.com (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/)
-   Engine & Internal (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/)
-   -   Don't laugh at my basic questions (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/dont-laugh-my-basic-questions-28154/)

zarembad 08-30-2006 06:13 PM

Don't laugh at my basic questions

As a classic muscle car builder, I have no knowledge of honda civic mods. I did however sell my musclecar and buy a 1994 civic hatchback. It has super low miles and was driven by an old guy who had it in for every service possible at the dealer. I thought this would be a good place to start building the car. I have lots of basic questions, but most imprtant is this. How do you find the engine code for what I have in my car? It is 16 valve, non v-tec, and that is all I know. What is it? Is it worth building, or do I have to do a swap? How fast can I make it? Where do I start in the building process? Please any help would be appreciated.

Remmy 08-30-2006 06:24 PM

RE: Don't laugh at my basic questions

Sorry, we arent honda-tech.com. We arent going to laugh at your hatch <snicker>. Youve made a huge jump on car status. Youve come to the right place. Read the stickies in all the forums. You will learn tons without having to ask questions. Unlike many forums, this one is laid out very well and organised so it is easy to make your way around. The search feature is very good also.

Onto the topic at hand. I belive you have a d15b7. The code should be located right above the transmission.

Here are the specs: D15B7 1.5L 16V SOHC PGM-FI 1493 '92-'95 Civic DX/LX USDM 102@5900 98@5000 9.2:1

You could make a really nasty hatch for a small lump of cash. I recommend an eninge swap.

StifflersMom 08-30-2006 06:28 PM

I recommend against the engine swap...forged internals, a z6 or a y8 built head with a turbo cam...turbo kit and you have more power than the swap for this money...

Skrapdoggydog 08-30-2006 06:29 PM