HondaCivicForum.com

HondaCivicForum.com (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/)
-   Engine & Internal (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/)
-   -   GSR Swap in '93 hatch (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/gsr-swap-93-hatch-25901/)

kobal 07-23-2006 09:18 PM

GSR Swap in '93 hatch

I've just acquired a '93 DX Hatchback, something I've wanted since they came out. This is my first Japanese car. I'm a tranny tech at a local GMC dealer, so I have all the tools and equipment available to me to do an engine swap in this car; all I need is a basic list of the parts required to do it. I've been told that (other than the engine, tranny, and ECU) I'll need to buy axles, mounts and some suspension components to do the job properly. If anyone can give me a complete list (with part numbers, preferrably;) ), I'd be much obliged.

So far I was able to find a company who sells these motors complete with transmissions and computers and with low mileage on eBay for around 3 grand. Is this a good price? Should I look elsewhere? Are there any complications I should be aware of when doing the swap? Are there any more questions I should be asking?

Chips 07-23-2006 11:29 PM

RE: GSR Swap in '93 hatch

This site has a good list of requirements for engine swaps, and from what I've heard it's pretty accurate. This site and this site both have great complete engines for really cheap. There is also a lot of info on this forum already posted if you look for it. Good luck!

riceburner700 07-24-2006 12:01 AM

dont forget a engine wiring harness!

kobal 07-24-2006 08:07 PM

Thank you very much! I can't tell you how helpful this has been already.