Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Idling at 200 rpm

  #1  
Old 10-20-2008, 01:21 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Columbia, Mo
Posts: 142
Default Idling at 200 rpm

i took the supercharger off my d series a couple weeks ago and it ran fine with putting all stock components back on. then i decided put on an Edelbrock performer x intake manifold along with a dc 4-1 header and test pipe. now im running at about 200 rpm when the engine is warm and in both park and drive. i tried setting the idle speed screw to 650 with the iac unplugged to reset the idle speed but when i do it makes the engine idle surge up and down when the iac is plugged back in. so i moved it back to where it was in the beginning... anyone have this problem? do i just need to adjust the timing a few degrees?
 
  #2  
Old 10-20-2008, 01:27 PM
RonJ's Avatar
Recognized HCF Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 9,453
Default

What year/engine Civic? For some engines, you should not unplug the IACV when setting the idle speed.
 
  #3  
Old 10-20-2008, 01:43 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Columbia, Mo
Posts: 142
Default

its a 93 z6
 
  #4  
Old 10-20-2008, 01:53 PM
RonJ's Avatar
Recognized HCF Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 9,453
Default

Yes, for the z6, you disconnect the IACV to set the idle; however, you set it to 420 rpm using a good tachometer:

Name:  picture_1521.jpg
Views: 56
Size:  98.7 KB

If you still have an idle problem after following this procedure, then try cleaning the IACV (see forum DIY).
 
  #5  
Old 10-20-2008, 02:13 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Columbia, Mo
Posts: 142
Default

ill try this. i already cleaned the IACV a couple weeks ago when i put the IM on. are you sure that its supposed to be 420. thats for a d15z1, i have a jdm d16z6
 
  #6  
Old 10-20-2008, 02:17 PM
RonJ's Avatar
Recognized HCF Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 9,453
Default

Originally Posted by vtecaddict View Post
are you sure that its supposed to be 420. thats for a d15z1, i have a jdm d16z6
Note below D15Z1, it also says "others". The Z6 fits with others. I assume jdm will be the same, although I am not positive.

Also inspect your spark plugs. If burned or worn, replace them.
 

Last edited by RonJ; 10-20-2008 at 02:21 PM.
  #7  
Old 10-20-2008, 02:20 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Columbia, Mo
Posts: 142
Default

alright. i guess i wasnt paying attention... im pulling my car in the garage now. so ill know in about 30 min or so if it works...
 
  #8  
Old 10-20-2008, 07:12 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location:
Posts: 260
Default

the stock tach isnt accurate that low of an rpm
 
  #9  
Old 10-20-2008, 07:29 PM
RonJ's Avatar
Recognized HCF Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 9,453
Default

Yeah, you need to hook up a good tach to the tach plug under the hood. My Civics are OBDII, so I instead use my Actron scan tool for this purpose.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Alan562
PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds
7
07-11-2005 03:57 AM
barryscivic
Private 'Wanted' Classifieds
2
05-17-2005 06:54 AM
grncivicvtec
General Civic Talk
43
03-28-2005 07:51 PM
dalifts
Engine & Internal
6
09-18-2004 08:15 AM
98brokeassvtec
PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds
9
08-26-2004 11:38 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Idling at 200 rpm


Advertising
Featured Sponsors

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.