Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Inherited 95' Civic could use advise

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2008, 12:43 PM
Default Inherited 95' Civic could use advise

ehy everyone i am a mechanic and just inherited a 95' civic coupe, and figured extra car why not tune it for 1/4 mile since i already have a daily driver. But i am kinda new to beefing up hondas civics especially, so any help anyone can offer would be greatly apprectiated!!! Want to start with a good engine, manual tranny, and prob turbo.like i said any help in the slightest would be much appretiated and i thank u ( btw the engine is about to go so a new one is a must.)

Old 01-24-2008, 02:10 PM
Super Cereal Admin
Default RE: Inherited 95' Civic could use advise

I'd say it all depends on future plans and your budget. Do you plan on turboing the motor you get? How much money can you throw at the car?

If you have enough money for it, a K-series engine is definitely the way to go. Unfortunately, a K20a2 (the one you'll want) is something along the lines of $4k for the swap package, meaning closer to $5k when it's all said and done.

If your budget isn't really that big, I'd say look into either a B18b (it's not vtec, but it's cheap.. $2200 for the swap package) or an H22a (about the same price as a B18, but it's a more involved swap). The b18 responds extremely well to boost, but isn't as powerful/torquey as an H22 stock. A lot of people say about how H22s are dangerous to boost or the engine block isn't strong enough to handle boost. Personally, I say it's a bunch of bulls**t. I see a ton of boosted Preludes with stock internals, and they have no problems at all.

Old 01-24-2008, 02:53 PM