Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

new block?

  #1  
Old 11-28-2006, 03:24 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 471
Default new block?

ok when me and my friend were putting on my header he was tightening the header to the block and he snapped one of the bolts coming out of the block by trying to tighten it too much its only one. so am i going to have to get a new block or can i replace the bolt???
 
  #2  
Old 11-28-2006, 03:25 PM
Remmy's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charleston
Posts: 11,248
Default RE: new block?

Just replace the bolt.
 
  #3  
Old 11-28-2006, 04:42 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Jersey
Posts: 7,168
Default RE: new block?

Get some vice grips and twist it out. If you snapped it off and theres nothing to grab onto youre going have to carefully drill it out with a small drill bit......and take the little pieces out.
 
  #4  
Old 11-28-2006, 09:23 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 471
Default RE: new block?

this is what it looks like and if i can replace it how do i replace it.


[IMG]local://upfiles/13172/2766C3489F9F44C78CEA5C74EC24EBB6.jpg[/IMG]
 
  #5  
Old 11-29-2006, 01:34 AM
Kei
Kei is offline
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 41
Default RE: new block?

Take a drill bit that is smaller than the bolt, but still fills a good diameter of it. Drill slowly, straight, and carefully into the bolt. The find yourself a reverse thread tool. This, when you tighten it, will use the reverse threads to loosen the other one. you just have to be VERY VERY careful. if you nick into the block or crack the block, you're going to be in bad shape.
 
  #6  
Old 11-29-2006, 08:32 AM
Marty's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Central
Posts: 8,519
Default RE: new block?

WTF the header is not attached to the block it is attached to the head hence the name header. Not a big deal though they have tap and die kits at autoparts stores and wal-mart
 
  #7  
Old 11-29-2006, 04:47 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 471
Default RE: new block?

oops i wasnt paying attention but can i run my car without replacing it will it mess my car up? because i have another head at the shop but its getting a port and polish but he is doing it for free on his spare time when he feels like it so its will take a while for me to get it and after that im not putting it on until i get my valve kit and cam so it will be about another month or two til i can put it on
 
  #8  
Old 11-29-2006, 06:10 PM
Join Date: May 2006
Location:
Posts: 976
Default RE: new block?

just get a new stud and a easy out kit at sears, youll have it fixed in 5-10min
 
  #9  
Old 11-29-2006, 11:39 PM
riceburner700's Avatar
Recognized HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Loveland CO
Posts: 6,629
Default RE: new block?

yes you can drive it no problem... im missing one on my turbo manifold and it doenst leak.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Lambo Civic
Engine & Internal
2
03-23-2012 05:42 AM
tombakers
Engine & Internal
0
05-04-2008 05:23 AM
Lost
Private 'Wanted' Classifieds
0
05-02-2007 10:52 AM
jo7man4
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
2
01-27-2007 01:13 PM
BillyB98
Engine & Internal
4
08-17-2006 05:06 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: new block?


Advertising
Featured Sponsors

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.