Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

performance or swap??

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2008, 01:05 PM
Default performance or swap??

I am new to civics and have not looked back since getting mine.

I have a 2001 civic dx coupe with
2" lowering springs
17"wheels
custom 2.5 exhaust with 4.5 out
aem v2 short ram

I want to make it faster but,Im new in the field of hondas so I just putmodded the obvious.

its a stock motor.. what should the next step be in getting more passing power? is a swap the best thing to do? or is there a better way to get performance out of this stock motor?

all input appreciated!

Old 03-27-2008, 01:24 PM
Super Cereal Admin
Default RE: performance or swap??

unfortunately since you have an '01, the only legal swap (technically you can't legally swap an engine into a car if the engine is older than the chassis) of any real value would be a k20, which is quite a bit of money. If you have $5k to throw at your car, I say go for it (get a k20a2... you can't go wrong with 200hp and 6 gears ).

Old 03-27-2008, 01:28 PM

little outta price range haha. do you suggest headers?

Old 03-27-2008, 01:43 PM
Super Cereal Admin

it's header, there's only one (no "s"). Anyway, yeah, it'll help, but it's not going to be noticeable.. you might see 5hp or so. Honestly, I'd say keep looking around for a 5-speed transmission. It'll be the best thing you can do for performance.

Old 03-28-2008, 07:53 AM
HCF Member

well i would suggest getting a vtec head from an ex model cus i dont think any of the dx came with vtec that would make a noticable diffrence thats if im right and you dont have that vtechead already. and also that 5 speed tranny if you have an auto.

Old 03-28-2008, 08:10 AM
HCF Member

ORIGINAL: ninety7_civic