Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

VTEC swap help

  #1  
Old 08-25-2006, 12:47 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18
Default VTEC swap help

Ok guys, here's the dilemma. I moved to Kissimmee, FL like a week and a half ago, and I decided that my black on black civic with no A/C was insane. I have a 2000 EX engine, I believe it is the D16Y8 VTEC motor in NY. That motor has A/C so I figure i'll just swap it in, especially because I'm thinkin about selling the car, and who's actually gonna buy it without A/C? The motor that's in my car should be a D16Y7 non-VTEC. If anyone knows what kind of problems I'm going to have other than just doing a straight drop-in, ecu swap and some interior changes, please let me know. I don't want to be surprised when I finally get started. Thanks guys
 
  #2  
Old 08-25-2006, 12:51 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18
Default RE: VTEC swap help

Also, I have checked back posts but didn't find much on it, I don't think people bother doing this swap most of the time... I was thinking maybe i could just swap the a/c components and the head to get vtec performance while i'm at it? I also saw a post on obd 2 being 96-98 and obd 2a being 99-00? Is this going to cause a problem?
 
  #3  
Old 08-25-2006, 01:14 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,041
Default RE: VTEC swap help

i dont think there should be a problem but dont hold me to that
 
  #4  
Old 08-25-2006, 01:46 PM
Remmy's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charleston
Posts: 11,248
Default RE: VTEC swap help

The a/c's are the same. But, you want to find a Y8 ecu while you are at it (obd2) make sure it is for your type transmission (auto/manual).
 
  #5  
Old 08-25-2006, 10:02 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18
Default RE: VTEC swap help

I do have the ECU already. Sorry, I should have mentioned before, I have the whole car, it's one of my old ones that i bought back from the insurance company when it was totaled. So i do need to swap out the ecu? Is the wiring harness the same? I've never done an engine swap myself before, only helped with one, so I'm not familiar with everything involved
 
  #6  
Old 08-25-2006, 10:03 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18
Default RE: VTEC swap help

Both cars are manual shift.
 
  #7  
Old 08-25-2006, 10:15 PM
mxs's Avatar
mxs
mxs is offline
HCF Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 7,994
Default RE: VTEC swap help

pretty sure you need the Y8 harness for vtec
 
  #8  
Old 08-26-2006, 12:59 AM
Marty's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Central
Posts: 8,519
Default RE: VTEC swap help

No you dont need the harness.

Convert your IACV from a 3 wire to a 2 wire, use the wire left over for your vtec. You will also need to buy a sheilded wire for the knock sensor as the Y8 has a knock sensor and the Y7 does not.
 
  #9  
Old 08-26-2006, 03:53 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18
Default RE: VTEC swap help

Ok that simplifies things a little more... As I said, I'm unfamiliar with everything that's involved with engines and doing the swap tho... What's the IACV? I've been trying to do my homework and search for the answer to any question before i ask it... but there is a lot of abbreviations that the 'engine illiterate' may not understand... is there a post someone made about what they all mean? lol
 
  #10  
Old 08-26-2006, 05:34 PM
Marty's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Central
Posts: 8,519
Default RE: VTEC swap help

intake air control valve
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: VTEC swap help


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.