HondaCivicForum.com

HondaCivicForum.com (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/)
-   Engine & Internal (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/)
-   -   Well new to Hondas!!! (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/well-new-hondas-80044/)

TooTall-89SI 12-27-2009 11:50 AM

Well new to Hondas!!!

Alright well I am new to the whole Honda scene. I come from the SRT-4 scene where I built a fully built Srt. Now it's on to my questions, I bought a clean body 89 civic si I heard it's one of the lightest models. Anywho I have know clue what motors could be swapped into it. I was thinking about fullybuilding a gsr block and head and throwing that in there. Please correct me if I am going in the wrog direction or there is different combos that will produce more power. Thanks Matt

cvcrcr99 12-27-2009 12:17 PM

GSR motors are great for reliable DD's.

What is your budget? How much hp/tq would you like to have when all said and done? Are you going to boost, or keep it NA?

You could look into getting an H22, B20, k20, k24.... the list can go on.

TooTall-89SI 12-27-2009 12:25 PM

True thanks I am looking to boost I want it for a weekend driver. I am looking for somewhere around 400hp. Budget isn't really an issue since I will be doing it piece by piece rather slowly.

cvcrcr99 12-27-2009 12:37 PM

IMO, the h22, and b20 are not good for boost as they have thinner wall sleeves.

If you're aiming for 400hp, I would boost the GSR motor.

You could also build a Ls/vtec (will cost some extra money to build it correctly and reliable), and boost that.

You could also go for a sleeved h22 on boost with an H2B tranny conversion, so you can get a b16 trans. (best trans IMO)

The turbo will also determine what kind of power you will get. What turbo are you looking at getting?

TooTall-89SI 12-27-2009 12:44 PM