Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

What to do???

  #1  
Old 01-23-2008, 07:44 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 71
Default What to do???

So heres my problem... My 02 Civic was totaled a while back, and i got (for free) a 95 Civic DX HB...Auto!!! I've got 4 grand, and i want to do a swap in like three months. I want to do the simplest swap, so i can spend the rest on the exterior. Also, how hard is it to change trannys from auto to manual? Any ways heres what i found...

JDM B16A II Civic Si-R (92-95) Auto Tranny & ECU $1,599.99
JDM ZC Vtec SOHC Honda Civic 92-95 Engine & Auto Tranny $899.99
Shipping is 160.00 Let me know what u think, Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 01-23-2008, 09:57 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 1,162
Default RE: What to do???

Well, out of those 2 I guess I would pick the B16. As for the tranny, youd have to buy a manual trans and then get a clutch and manual shifter to go in place of your auto but I hope someone can fill you in on that as I have never done it.
 
  #3  
Old 01-24-2008, 01:56 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 71
Default RE: What to do???

So would the B16 be an easy swap, if i wanted to just keep it an auto?
 
  #4  
Old 01-24-2008, 03:00 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location:
Posts: 917
Default RE: What to do???

it would be a pretty staight forward swap. You may as well do the manual swap, almost everything you need comes with the motor swap and the rest can be had from a junk yard for like $100
 
  #5  
Old 01-28-2008, 05:20 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16
Default RE: What to do???

im looking to do the same swap. my question is this. would i be able use my exsiting cv axles? i can get a manual trans,flywheel,shifter and cable, for under $150. well thanks for your time and have a nice day.
 
  #6  
Old 01-28-2008, 01:01 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 1,162
Default RE: What to do???

No you cant use your axles. You need any B series axles.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Advertising
Featured Sponsors

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.