Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

y7 engine with a ex ecu

  #1  
Old 07-27-2006, 06:36 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: north ont
Posts: 97
Default y7 engine with a ex ecu

so im going to do a swap soon,from a y7 to a y8 or the di5 anyway wat would happen if i put the ex or si ecu in first b4 the engine? just curious..
 
  #2  
Old 07-27-2006, 06:45 PM
Marty's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Central
Posts: 8,519
Default RE: y7 engine with a ex ecu

you would throw a check engine light.
 
  #3  
Old 07-27-2006, 06:53 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: north ont
Posts: 97
Default RE: y7 engine with a ex ecu

any proformance changes?
 
  #4  
Old 07-27-2006, 07:18 PM
Marty's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Central
Posts: 8,519
Default RE: y7 engine with a ex ecu

Yea I'd say, probly run a tad rich and will have **** for low end being you will not be picking up a knock sensor which will pull timing to a certain extent being it will be in safe mode. You will be throwing CEL's for knock sensor, vtec, and IACV and it will affect everything from performance to gas milage.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Civic maniac
ECU Tuning & Fuel Management
10
11-30-2008 01:58 AM
Captain_Sl0w
ECU Tuning & Fuel Management
0
08-19-2008 06:41 PM
theShamgod
ECU Tuning & Fuel Management
1
08-15-2008 02:48 PM
xiong.s2460.mccd
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
7
07-19-2008 08:08 PM
civics101
ECU Tuning & Fuel Management
1
04-14-2007 10:04 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: y7 engine with a ex ecu


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.