General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

got some questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2008, 09:23 PM
HCF Member
Default got some questions

ok so as a noob, i really dont know jack about hondas. mostly what gets me is the chassi stuff. i know my 98 civic LX is an EJ6, but i see all these parts listed everywhere for EK's and EG's and what not. now from what i understand the EG is a hatchback (please correct me if im wrong). i get that the EJ6 is usdm and the ek's are other countries. what im wondering is will parts for the ek's work on my ej6?

second, did honda ever do black interior for the 6th gens. i want to switch my interior over to black, but cant find anything. mostly im looking for door panels, but dont want to spend a fortune to get them.

lastly, for now, i have a bad downstream O2 sensor. i also have an aftermarket exhaust and header. will the CEL light go off when i put in the new O2 sensor or will i have to do something else to get it to go away.

thanks for your help,
John

Old 04-19-2008, 09:33 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: got some questions

ek's- refer to japan's hatchback 6th generation
eg's- refer to hatchback 5th generations
ej's- refer to usdm/canada coupe 5th/6th generation

search wikipedia.org for more in-depth info

no, honda didn't make an all black interior, but did make a dark gray interior which also looks good (type k). some people do get vinyl dye and plastic spray paint and change their interior color to black instead of the light gray or tan. search on this website and you'll find info on it.

if your o2 sensor is already bad, then you should already have a cel, and if the header and exhaust are carb legal, then everything should be fine after replacing the bad sensor.

Old 04-19-2008, 09:42 PM
HCF Member