HondaCivicForum.com

HondaCivicForum.com (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/)
-   General Civic Talk (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/general-civic-talk-16/)
-   -   Help to buy my FIRST car & FIRST Honda Civic... thanks (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/general-civic-talk-16/help-buy-my-first-car-first-honda-civic-thanks-50087/)

Bananaboat11 08-15-2007 05:24 PM

Help to buy my FIRST car & FIRST Honda Civic... thanks

Hey guys --

So, I'm looking at a blue (not that color matters) 2004 Honda Civic EX Coupe, 2 door. Looks to be in great condition & drives well (took it for a test drive). Carfax is clean.. only 1 owner (it was a lease vehicle from a reputable dealer who only deals with NEW cars - so they auctioned it off for sale) -- it only has 33,047 miles on it!

...the dealer's price is 13,490... but the first visit they took off 90.00... I laughed in my head and left. I like the vehicle, but I'm only a student on a budget. I have full financing available to me, but I'd like to keep the monthly payments lower... so the lower the loan, the better. I'm dropping 2500.00 on the vehicle IF I take it.

The vehicle comes fully loaded as any EX would. Tonight my pops came with me to the dealer... somehow he got the dealer down to 12,800.00 ... but I really don't want to pay over 12,500.00 (If the dealer goes to this price, I'm taking it being it's in GREAT condition) but tell the dealer that he's getting the better half of the deal.

Kelly Blue Book value lists the vehicle @ 14,000.00 in equity & so does my financier. The dealer can't seem to sell the vehicle and it seems like I'm the only interested buyer at the moment. I know it's a buyers market now - car sales are down according to my buddy who deals at a Honda dealer near me (but can't get me any discounts on vehicles since he's a new sales rep - otherwise I'd go through him).