General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

Just changed spark plugs(little help needed)

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2013, 03:40 PM
Question Just changed spark plugs(little help needed)

Hello, I've just changed all 4 spark plugs. This is my first time ever doing this so please let me know if I did this correctly. Its a 2002 1.7L EX. I used 4 NGK copper if hope it will help slightly with performance over the stock bosch platinumII. Is this right? Anyway for install I gave it about an hour to cool down. Put on antiseze; Did one at a time removing ignition coil then plug and then putting a new one in hand tight; then tightening from about 5oclock to 11oclock(stopped right when it seemed snug.) It starts still sounds good and runs smooth, but I'm afraid to drive it. The first time I ever changeed my oil on my geo metro I broke my AC and let out all of the freon instead of taking off the oil cap...

I did also check gap to .4in

Last edited by 7kyle7; 07-23-2013 at 03:43 PM.
Old 07-23-2013, 09:46 PM
HCF Member

You should be fine.. as long you don't over tighten it, like trying to kill it...

Old 08-02-2013, 05:50 AM

NGK is good. But you could have gone for Iridium 9. Those are costlier and even better.. So next time get those..

Old 08-28-2013, 11:46 AM
HCF Member

Next time you do something like this, buy a torque wrench and tighten the plugs down to specs. It sounds like you don't have a whole lot of wrench time and the torque wrench will help you get the feel of how tight things should actually be. Then over time, you'll get the feel of things. If you happen to overtighten something and end up stripping threads, you'll wish you'd invested in a torque wrench in the first place.