General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.
View Poll Results: is it worth upgrading a auto trans civic?
yes
15.38%
no
84.62%
Voters: 13. You may not vote on this poll

NEED CIVIC MODDING ADVICE..and im a total NOOB at this..2008 civic EX auto trans. thx

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2008, 01:52 PM
Default NEED CIVIC MODDING ADVICE..and im a total NOOB at this..2008 civic EX auto trans. thx

ok like the title says...i am completely new to modding cars and etc..i recently bought a 2008 civic ex and id like to get it hook'd up BUT i was just curious if there is even a point in hooking up a auto trans civic? jus looking for some useful advice. if its not too much trouble can you guys please list reasons for keeping it ..and can i get it changed to a manual? if so how much would that cost?

i know i asked some stupid questions but like i said i am completely new i usually jus drive the damn cars. dont know anything about them. thanks in advanced

Old 08-05-2008, 02:14 PM

it's not worth it. i used to think it was, but i ended up buying a manual, swapping all my upgrades to it, and then selling the auto. eventually you will wish you hadn't bought it and put time into it.

i say sell the '08 auto and go get a manual. if you can afford it, i'd go get the Si, if you are into performance. It's definitely worth the extra couple thousand over an EX to get an Si.

if all you want is appearance and audio modifications, then keep the auto. but if you want any performance upgrades, get a stick.

Old 08-05-2008, 03:44 PM
HCF Member

i mean there is nothing wrong with modding an auto, however a stick would be a better place. Yes you can change it to a manual, but that costs a lot of money and isn't worth it on a brand new car. You should trade it in for a manual if you really want it.

And you car is brand spanking new, so thinking about modifications shouldn't be until like at least 3-4 years from now

Old 08-05-2008, 04:11 PM
Super Cereal Admin

Yes and no.