HondaCivicForum.com

HondaCivicForum.com (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/)
-   General Civic Talk (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/general-civic-talk-16/)
-   -   What is this Civic worth (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/general-civic-talk-16/what-civic-worth-62285/)

shltz4 03-11-2008 02:02 PM

What is this Civic worth

I am interested in buying a Civic real shortly. Been looking at this car for sale here in my town. it is a 1997 Civic ex with 172,000 on the odometer. The body seems to be in good condition. the interior also seems to be descent for the miles on it. I am looking for a daily driver for driving to college, about 80 miles a day1 way. It has the 4cyl motor and a manual trans. Just wondering if you guys think 2500 is to much for this car and if i should be worried about the high miles on it??

Kmr386 03-11-2008 03:48 PM

RE: What is this Civic worth

I'm no car expert either but I soldmy '95 Toyota Corolla (equal in quality toa Honda that old I think) with 175K in miles for $1500. If i were you i would check on http://www.kbb.com/and punch in the specs of the car to see what the blue book value is. If the person selling it is asking more than what the blue book is saying, you are getting ripped off.

shltz4 03-11-2008 04:56 PM

Well thanks for the advice. I already went to KBB.com and the blue book was about 3100 in fair to poor condition. So i guess my main question is do these cars start having problems at 200,000 miles. not saying once it hits that many miles stuff starts breaking, but in a general case around that many miles? I have no idea about how hondas run, so I am just trying to do some info before a potential purchase

Kmr386 03-11-2008 05:21 PM