Header, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

AEM V2 installed ! ! !

  #1  
Old 09-04-2005, 01:09 PM
mxs's Avatar
mxs
mxs is offline
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 7,994
Default AEM V2 installed ! ! !

Well guys, I did it! I ordered a V2 a few weeks ago, thinking "I just want to see what it's like" and if I didn't like it or didn't feel a difference I could pull it out easily and sell it. Let me tell you, this thing is NOT coming out!

It was a pretty easy installation, all things considered. The hardest part involved replacing a freaking transmission mount (see picture), mostly because the bolts wouldn't come out. It was a little tough adjusting it all correctly so the intake didn't hit anything, but if I had someone helping me out it would have been a little easier. It did end up kind of touching the lower radiator hose, but I didn't try to adjust it since I didn't want to end up with a faceful of coolant. I hope it will be okay.

On to the fun part: I took it out for a spin this morning, and HOLY CRAP! WHAT A DIFFERENCE! I can feela lot more power through the 2500-4500 ish range. I'm accelerating faster and it got a whole lot more fun to drive. As far as the sound, at low speeds tooling around the neighborhood, it really didn't get louder than before with just my exhaust and half of a factory airbox. But at high RPMs it really starts to scream.



Here are a few pictures. Be aware that on the 7th generation Civics, the V2's filter is in the engine bay, but on the 6th generation models, the filter goes behind the bumper in front of the right wheel. It's pretty well protected by the splash guards, but for you hydrolock-paranoid types, you can't get an air bypass valve for this intake.

[IMG]local://upfiles/4155/805E0BE8192A488E86DD8B7B14AB5B78.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]local://upfiles/4155/CCDDCD4FDDDA4DBABFB95BADBA84498B.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]local://upfiles/4155/647BF46C19534EC38498398B0B00984E.jpg[/IMG]
 
  #2  
Old 09-04-2005, 02:11 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location:
Posts: 7,702
Default RE: AEM V2 installed ! ! !

pshhh hydrolock is overrated

looks good...congrats on the new intake
 
  #3  
Old 09-04-2005, 02:19 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location:
Posts: 3,313
Default RE: AEM V2 installed ! ! !

So sweet.


Modding is cool.
 
  #4  
Old 09-04-2005, 03:20 PM
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location:
Posts: 4,414
Default RE: AEM V2 installed ! ! !

Well mxs, another notch on your belt! Looks like you did good. Congrats!
 
  #5  
Old 09-04-2005, 04:33 PM
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location:
Posts: 2,808
Default RE: AEM V2 installed ! ! !

whats with the transmition mount thing? i drive a 01 ex. so do i have to worry about that if i get a v2? import tuner mag put one on a 96 hatch, and they described the sound of an eliphant charging toward them.... would you say it sounds that good?
 
  #6  
Old 09-04-2005, 04:59 PM
mxs's Avatar
mxs
mxs is offline
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 7,994
Default RE: AEM V2 installed ! ! !

ORIGINAL: dj_ipirate

whats with the transmition mount thing? i drive a 01 ex. so do i have to worry about that if i get a v2?
Nope, yours will look like this: https://www.hondacivicforum.com/phot...Type=6&apage=1
Not sure where the mounting point is, but it looks like you won't have to mess with the transmission.

import tuner mag put one on a 96 hatch, and they described the sound of an eliphant charging toward them.... would you say it sounds that good?
My first impression is that it sounds really good, but I'll have to drive it some more before I can get back to you on the elephant thing

p.s. if this improves my gas mileage I will be THRILLED
 
  #7  
Old 09-04-2005, 05:03 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location:
Posts: 2,501
Default RE: AEM V2 installed ! ! !

Good job!!! Looks great!!! When I first got mine the reaction was the same, its an awesome piece of equipment!
 
  #8  
Old 09-06-2005, 03:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 37
Default RE: AEM V2 installed ! ! !

wat would it look like on the 7th generations? just wondering
 
  #9  
Old 09-06-2005, 04:40 AM
HCF Member
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 284
Default RE: AEM V2 installed ! ! !

Best pic ive got. sorry.

[IMG]local://upfiles/3548/A7A38D6203F541EDBA26881006DB96FF.jpg[/IMG]
 
  #10  
Old 09-06-2005, 06:49 AM
mxs's Avatar
mxs
mxs is offline
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 7,994
Default RE: AEM V2 installed ! ! !

ORIGINAL: jnoh

wat would it look like on the 7th generations? just wondering
There's a link to a 01 EX in my last post up.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: AEM V2 installed ! ! !


Advertising
Featured Sponsors

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.